History Of The RMISA

Founded in 1950, the Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association has long since been a leader in the collegiate skiing world. Being in existence longer than the sport has been sanctioned by the NCAA and boasting more national championships than any other conference, the RMISA has historically and remains today as the premier skiing conference in the United States.

Since its inception, RMISA schools have won 56 of the 64 championships conducted by the NCAA, or 87.3 percent, since 1954. Five of the seven schools that have won an NCAA skiing championship have done so from the RMISA. Denver leads the way with 23 NCAA titles, followed by Colorado's 19 and Utah's 11. Wyoming won two titles and New Mexico one. Only Vermont (6) and Dartmouth (3) have won titles from outside the RMISA. Colorado and Dartmouth split the title in 1976.

Utah and Colorado each boast one AIAW national championship, as well. The RMISA welcomed women's teams into the league in 1977, the same time skiing became an AIAW sport. The NCAA incorporated the AIAW in 1983, and at that time the sport became co-ed for both the NCAA and RMISA.

With the start of the RMISA there began a post season National Championship, starting in 1951 and being taken over by the NCAA in 1954. Denver won two of those four titles with Dartmouth and Washington State taking the other two.

With the two AIAW titles by Colorado and Utah and two men's titles from Denver prior to the start of the NCAA, that brings the total number of national championships to 60 since the start of the RMISA.

Prior to 1950 and the start of the conference, there were multiple events that were considered the intercollegiate championship. Utah won what was considered the national four-way intercollegiate ski championship in Sun Valley, Idaho.

The RMISA has also boasted the most individual NCAA Champions, boasting 314 out of 449, or 69.9 percent of all individual champions. Colorado leads the way with 94, followed by Denver (88) and Utah (74). Vermont is the only other school with 50-plus individual champions, with 64.

Membership History

There are currently 11 schools a part of the RMISA, seven NCAA members and three associate members. Associate members compete in meets and accumulate team points but are not eligible to compete at the NCAA Championships. Current NCAA members are Alaska Anchorage, Alaska Fairbanks, Colorado, Denver, Montana State, New Mexico and Utah. Associate members are Colorado Mesa, Colorado Mountain, Westminster and Wyoming. Former NCAA members of the league are Boise State, Colorado College, Colorado Mines, Colorado State, Nevada, Utah State, Western State Colege, Whitman College and Wyoming.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek