About The Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association

2018 RMISA Handbook & Rules

The Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association (RMISA) is a conference for collegiate skiing made up of 11 members, seven institutions that sponsor NCAA skiing and four associate members.

The full members that all compete in the NCAA are the University of Alaska Anchorage, the University of Alaska Fairbanks, the University of Colorado, the University of Denver, Montana State University, the University of New Mexico and the University of Utah. Colorado Mesa University, Colorado Mountain College, Westminster College and the University of Wyoming are associate members. Colorado Mountain College and Westminster College both compete in alpine and Colorado Mesa and Wyoming competes in Nordic. Wyoming was a fully sanctioned member before dropping skiing as a varsity sport in 1992. Its Nordic team is a club program. Alaska Fairbanks came to the RMISA from the CCSA prior to the 2017 season and competes in Nordic only.

Founded in 1950, four years before skiing became an NCAA sponsored sport, former members of the conference include Boise State, Colorado College, Colorado Mines, Colorado State, Nevada, Utah State, Western State and Whitman.

From 1950-76, the RMISA was only made up of men's ski teams. From 1977-82, women's teams were part of the conference and championships were held separately. During that same time frame, the women's teams were part of the AIAW. In 1983, the NCAA incorporated women's sports across the board and skiing became a coed sport, and the RMISA followed that lead and since 1983, the conference has awarded a combined champion.

Colorado has won 28 RMISA Championships, 11 men's, two women's and 15 coed. Denver and Utah are both next with 18 (14-0-4 for Denver and 3-2-13 for Utah). Wyoming won six (3-2-1) with New Mexico and Western State both having won two championships.

Those Championships are a result of the championship meet, which for the most part has coincided with the NCAA Western Regional. Since 2006, the conference has also crowned a regular season championship, totaled by adding all the season's meet points together prior to the RMISA Championships.

Colorado won the regular season championship in 2006 with Denver winning in 2007. The Buffs then won in 2008 and '09 before New Mexico won in 2010 and Utah in 2011 and '12. The Buffs claimed the title in 2013 and Denver won in 2014. The Buffs again claimed the title in 2015 with Utah winning in both 2016 and '17.

Colorado has won five regular season titles with Utah winning four, Denver two and New Mexico one. That gives Colorado 33 total championships with Utah claiming 22, Denver 20, Wyoming six, New Mexico three and Western State two.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek