Utah's Richter, UAA's Roenning Win Classic Sprints as Utah takes Lead at UAA Invite

Monday, February 18, 2019 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

ANCHORAGE, Alaska—Utah's Julia Richter and Alaska Anchorage's Sigurd Roenning won the classic sprint races as the Nordic teams wrapped up the UAA Invitational on Monday afternoon.

The Utes jumped into the overall lead and hold a 16-point lead over Denver with 331 points. Colorado is also within 20 points with 312 points while New Mexico stands fourth and host Alaska Anchorage fifth. The races conclude the Nordic portion of the UAA Invitational with the next race the giant slalom in alpine on Feb. 22.

The Nordic teams take a day off and return to the track on Feb. 20 with the freestyle men's 10-km and women's 5-km freestyle races of the RMISA Championships/NCAA West Regional.

Women's Sprints

  1. Julia Richter, Utah
  2. Hedda Baangman, Colorado
  3. Jasmi Joensuu, Denver
  4. Kati Roivas, Alaska Fairbanks
  5. Karianne Moe, Utah
  6. Taeler McCrerey, Denver
  7. Leah Lange, Utah
  8. Anna Fake, Montana State
  9. Kristine Karsrud, Denver
  10. Julie Spets, New Mexico

Team scores: Utah 94, Denver 83, Colorado 73, Alaska Anchorage 54, Alaska Fairbanks 53, Montana State 51, New Mexico 46

  • Utah's Julia Richter earned her first win of the season. She has back-to-back podium finishes.
  • Colorado's Hedda Baangman earned her fifth podium of the season, which is tied for the league lead.
  • Denver's Jasmi Joensuu also earned her second-straight podium.
  • Alaska Fairbanks' Kati Roivas earned her sixth top-five finish of the year, which leads the league.
  • Utah's Karianne Moe has two top five finishes this year.

Men's Sprints

  1. Sigurd Roenning, Alaska Anchorage
  2. Eivind Kvaale, Denver
  3. JC Schoonmaker, Alaska Anchorage
  4. Logan Diekmann, Utah
  5. Kornelius Groev, New Mexico
  6. Erik Dengerud, Colorado
  7. Alvar Alev, Colorado
  8. Bjorn Riksaasen, Utah
  9. Noel Keeffe, Utah
  10. Ty Godfrey, Montana State

Team scores: Alaska Anchorage 87, Utah 76, Denver 74, Colorado 70, New Mexico 63, Montana State 51, Alaska Fairbanks 33

  • UAA's Sigurd Roenning earned his second win of the season. He has four podiums this year.
  • Denver's Eivind Kvaale earned his second-straight second-place finish.
  • UAA's JC Schoonmaker earned his first podium finish as well as his first top 10 of the year.
  • Utah's Logan Diekmann finished in the top five for the fifth time this season.
  • New Mexico's Kornelius Groev has finished in the top five a league-high seven times this year.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek