2020 NCAA Championships (3/12)

Live Timing: Women's 5K FS | Men's 10K FS
Results: Women's GS | Men's GS


Utah's Lein, DU's Klomhaus Win Slalom Races At CU Invitational

Thursday, January 16, 2020 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

ELDORA, Colo.—Utah's Joachim Lien and Denver's Storm Klomhaus won the slalom races on day two of the Colorado Invitational.

Utah has won the alpine portion of both meets this season, leading Colorado 324 to 312 overall with the Nordic portion of the meet beginning on Saturday, Jan. 17, with the freestyle races.

Teams will participate in an RMISA slalom qualifier on Friday, which does not count towards any team scoring and is used as an extra opportunity for skiers to earn qualification points for the NCAA Championships at the end of the season. Also on Friday, Colorado will host a dual slalom exhibition event.

Team Standings

  1. Utah (324)
  2. Colorado (312, -12)
  3. Denver (301.5, -22.5)
  4. Westminster (242, -82)
  5. Alaska Anchorage (224, -100)
  6. Montana State (217.5, -106.5)
  7. Colorado Mountain (143, -181)
Women's Slalom
  1. Storm Klomhaus, DU
  2. Roni Remme, UU
  3. Mikaela Tommy, CU
  4. Reece Bell, DU
  5. Julia Toiviainen, WMC
  6. Andrea Komsic, DU
  7. Katie Vesterstein, UU
  8. Rebecca Fiegl, UAA
  9. Eirin Engeset, UU
  10. Andrea Arnold, CU
  • Denver led the team standings with 98 points in the race.
  • Denver's Storm Klomhaus won her first career collegiate race in her second race of the year after returning from missing most of the last two seasons.
  • Utah's Roni Remme earned her first podium of the season in her second race of the year after coming off the World Cup circuit.
  • Colorado's Mikaela Tommy has four podium finishes this season.
  • Denver's Reece Bell earns her first career top five finish.
  • Westminster's earns her second top five finish of the season.
Men's Slalom
  1. Joachim Lien, UU
  2. Mikkel Slobakken, WMC
  3. Joey Young, CU
  4. Colby Lane, DU
  5. Aage Solheim, MSU
  6. Mikkel Wahl, WMC
  7. Addison Dvoracek, UU
  8. Tobais Kogler, DU
  9. Tomas Birkner, UU
  10. Gustav Voello, UU
  • Utah led the team standings with 87 points in the race.
  • Utah's Joachim Lien has won both slalom races this season and finished on the podium three times total, which is second in the league.
  • Westminster's Mikkel Slobakken earned his second podium finish of the season.
  • Colorado's Joey Young finished on the podium for the first time this year.
  • Denver's Colby Lane finished in the top five for the first time in his career.
  • Montana State's Aage Solheim finished in the top five for the fifth time this year, which leads the league.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek