UNM's Izquierdo-Bernier Wins Classic; Utah Takes Day 3 Lead At NCAAs

Friday, March 8, 2019 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

STOWE, Vt.—New Mexico's Ricardo Izquierdo-Bernier won the men's 20-km classic and Utah's Julia Richter led the women with a second-place finish on the third day of the NCAA Championships as the Utes jumped into the team lead.

Utah led the team scoring in both classic races to bring its team total to 426.5 points, while Colorado also had a strong day to jump into second (361) with a pair of Eastern schools in third and fourth - Dartmouth (359) and Vermont (350). Denver is fifth (272) with New Mexico sixth (214).

Utah's 65½- point lead entering the Saturday's final events – the slalom – is the 10th largest since the sport went coed in 1983. The school with the nine larger margins all went on to win the title. The RMISA is looking for its 58th overall and seventh-straight championship.

The NCAA Championships conclude on Saturday, March 9 with the men's and women's slalom races. First run men's is at 9 a.m. ET, first run women's at 10 a.m. ET with second runs at Noon/1 p.m. ET.

Women's 15-km Classic

  1. Katharine Ogden, Dartmouth
  2. Julia Richter, Utah
  3. Hedda Baangman, Colorado
  4. Guro Jordheim, Utah
  5. Anna Bizyukova, Vermont
  6. Lauren Jortberg, Dartmouth
  7. Karianne Moe, Utah
  8. Jasmi Joensuu, Denver
  9. Evelina Sutro, Vermont
  10. Christina Rolandsen, Colorado
  11. Anne Siri Lervik, Colorado
  12. Julie Spets, New Mexico
  13. Kati Roivas, Alaska Fairbanks
  14. Casey Wright, Alaska Anchorage
  15. Anna Fake, Montana State
  16. Emma Tarbath, Montana State
  17. Kathleen O’Connell, Montana State
  18. Dariya Kuznetsova, New Mexico
  19. Taeler McCrerey, Denver
  20. Michaela Keller-Miller, Alaska Anchorage
  21. Anna Darnell, Alaska Anchorage
  22. Savanna Fassio, New Mexico
  23. Anja Maijala, Alaska Fairbanks
  24. Kristine Karsrud, Denver

Team scores: Utah 93, Dartmouth 86, Colorado 73, Vermont 71, Michigan Tech 26, Denver 25, Middlebury 22, Montana State 22, New Mexico 20, Northern Michigan 17, Alaska Fairbanks 15, Alaska Anchorage 11, Bowdoin 11, Bates 7

  • Utah's Julia Richter earned her second All-America honor of the championships with her sixth-straight podium finish.
  • Colorado's Hedda Baangman earned her first career All-America honor with a third-place finish, her seventh podium of the season.
  • Utah's Guro Jordheim earned the sixth All-America honor of her career with a fourth-place finish. She has finished every race she has competed this year in the top five.
  • Utah's Karianne Moe earned her first career All-America honor with a seventh-place finish, the seventh time she has finished in the top 10 this year.
  • Denver's Jasmi Joensuu is a four-time All-American after an eighth-place finish, her fifth top 10 of the season.
  • Colorado's Christina Rolandsen finished 10th for her fifth career All-America honor, the 11th time this year she has placed in the top 10, which leads the league.

Men's 20-km Classic

  1. Ricardo Izquierdo-Bernier, New Mexico
  2. Sigurd Roenning, Alaska Anchorage
  3. Maximilian Bie, Utah
  4. Alvar Johannes Alev, Colorado
  5. Ola Jordheim, Utah
  6. Ian Torchia, Northern Michigan
  7. Zak Ketterson, Northern Michigan
  8. Ben Ogden, Vermont
  9. Erik Olsvik Dengerud, Colorado
  10. Lewis Nottonson, Middlebury
  11. Eivind Kvaale, Denver
  12. Logan Diekmann, Utah
  13. Sondre Bollum, Colorado
  14. Eli Jensen, Montana State
  15. Seiji Takagi, Alaska Fairbanks
  16. Ty Godfrey, Montana State
  17. Kornelius Groev, New Mexico
  18. J.C. Schoonmaker, Alaska Anchorage
  19. Ti Donaldson, Montana State
  20. Ole Marius Kirkeng, Denver
  21. Johan Eirik Meland, New Mexico
  22. Borgar Norrud, Denver
  23. Toomas Kollo, Alaska Anchorage
  24. Max Donaldson, Alaska Fairbanks

Team scores: Utah 81, Northern Michigan 72, Colorado 70, New Mexico 47, Alaska Anchorage 42, Vermont 34, Montana State 25, Middlebury 22, Denver 19, Michigan Tech 16, Bowdoin 15, Williams 15, Dartmouth 14, Alaska Fairbanks 10, Colby College 8, Harvard 6

  • New Mexico's Ricardo Izquierdo-Bernier won his second career race, winning the first NCAA men's Nordic classic title for New Mexico. He becomes a two-time All-American.
  • Alaska Anchorage's Sigurd Roenning earned his first career All-America honor with a second-place finish. He has five podiums this year.
  • Utah's Maximilian Bie becomes a two-time All-American with his second podium of the season after finishing third.
  • Colorado's Alvar Alev earns his third All-America honor (second of the weekend) with a fourth-place finish, his third top five finish of the year.
  • Utah's Ola Jordheim earns his first career All-America honor. It is his sixth top-five finish of the year.
  • Colorado's Erik Dengerud has finished in the top 10 10 times this year. He earned his second All-America honor of the weekend.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek