MSU's McCarthy, DU's Fornier Win Slalom Races as Utah Wins UAA Invite

Saturday, February 23, 2019 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

GIRDWOOD, Alaska—Montana State's Jocelyn McCarthy and Denver's Simon Fournier won the slalom races to close out the UAA Invitational on Saturday as the Utah won in the team standings for its third meet win of the season.

The Utes had 638 points, leading Denver (598.5) and Colorado (585) with New Mexico fourth (508.5), Alaska Anchorage fifth (449) and Montana State sixth (349). Alaska Fairbanks finished seventh (195) with Westminster College eighth (182) and Colorado Mountain College ninth (64).

The alpine teams conclude their time in Alaska on Sunday with the slalom races to determine the RMISA Championships. Utah leads Colorado by 33.5 points (517 to 483.5) in the team standings.

Women's Slalom

  1. Jocelyn McCarthy, Montana State
  2. Rebecca Fiegl, New Mexico
  3. Andrea Komsic, Denver
  4. Eirin Engeset, Utah
  5. Tuva Norbye, Denver
  6. Sona Moravcikova, New Mexico
  7. Mikaela Tommy, Colorado
  8. Stef Fleckenstein, Colorado
  9. Kaitlyn Vesterstein, Utah
  10. Nora Christensen, Colorado

Team scores: New Mexico 80, Utah 71.5, Colorado 69, Denver 61.5, Montana State 58, Alaska Anchorage 42, Westminster College 39, Colorado Mountain 12

  • Montana State's Jocelyn McCarthy won her second race of the season and in her career.
  • New Mexico's Rebecca Fiegl earned her first podium of the season.
  • Denver's Andrea Komsic earned her second podium of the season.
  • Utah's Eirin Engeset earned her sixth podium of the season, which ranks second in the league.
  • Denver's Tuva Norbye finished in the top five for a league-leading ninth time this year.

Men's Slalom

  1. Simon Fournier, Denver
  2. Mark Engel, Utah
  3. Joachim Lien, Utah
  4. Alex Barounos, New Mexico
  5. Tobias Kogler, Denver
  6. Mikkel Wahl, Westminster College
  7. Olav Sanderberg, New Mexico
  8. Addison Dvoracek, Utah
  9. Joseph Young, Colorado
  10. Aage Solehim, Montana State

Team scores: Utah 94, Denver 85, New Mexico 68, Westminster College 63, Montana State 54, Alaska Anchorage 45, Colorado 42, Colorado Mountain 27

  • Denver's Simon Fournier won his fourth race of the season which ties for the league lead.
  • Utah's Mark Engel earned his third podium of the year.
  • Utah's Joachim Lien won his fourth podium of the season.
  • New Mexico's Alex Barounos earned his first top five finish of the season.
  • Denver's Tobias Kogler has finished in the top five a league-high six times this year.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek