Colorado's Dengerud, Utah's Jordheim Win Freestyle Races as Utes lead Buffs by Two Points in RMISA Championship Standings

Wednesday, February 20, 2019 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

PALMER, Alaska—Colorado's Erik Dengerud won his first race of the season and Utah's Guro Jordheim won her fifth as Utah leads Colorado after the first day of the RMISA Championships/NCAA West Regional.

The Utes hold a 170 to 168 lead over Colorado. Host Alaska Anchorage is third with 137 points while New Mexico is fourth (121), Denver fifth (116), Alaska Fairbanks sixth (103) and Montana State seventh (93).

The alpine teams have their first races of the week on Thursday, Feb. 21, with the giant slalom for the UAA Invitational beginning at 10 a.m.

Men's 10-km Freestyle

  1. Erik Dengerud, Colorado
  2. Ricardo Izquierdo-Bernier, New Mexico
  3. Sigurd Roenning, Alaska Anchorage
  4. Kornelius Groev, New Mexico
  5. Sondre Bollum, Colorado
  6. Ola Jordheim, Utah
  7. Bjorn Riksaasen, Utah
  8. Toomas Kollo, Alaska Anchorage
  9. Max Donaldson, Alaska Fairbanks
  10. Andrew Potyk, Colorado

Team scores: Colorado 90, New Mexico 85, Alaska Anchorage 73, Utah 71, Alaska Fairbanks 49, Montana State 48, Denver 38

  • Colorado's Erik Dengerud earned his first career victory. He has finished in the top 10 seven times this year.
  • New Mexico's Ricardo Izquierdo-Bernier earned his fifth podium finish of the year, which ranks second in the league.
  • Alaska Anchorage's Sigurd Roenning finished on the podium for the fourth time this season, which ranks third in the league.
  • New Mexico's Kornelius Groev had won every other freestyle race of the year before today. He has eight top five finishes.
  • Colorado's Sondre Bollum finished in the top five for the first time this year.

Women's 5-km Freestyle

  1. Guro Jordheim, Utah
  2. Julia Richter, Utah
  3. Christina Rolandsen, Colorado
  4. Jasmi Joensuu, Denver
  5. Taeler McCrerey, Denver
  6. Hedda Baangman, Colorado
  7. Casey Wright, Alaska Anchorage
  8. Kati Roivas, Alaska Fairbanks
  9. Karianne Moe, Utah
  10. Mariah Bredal, Utah

Team scores: Utah 99, Colorado 78, Denver 78, Alaska Anchorage 64, Alaska Fairbanks 54, Montana State 45, New Mexico 36

  • Utah's Guro Jordheim has won five of the six races she has competed this year and finished on the podium in all six. She leads the league in wins in any discipline.
  • Utah's Julia Richter had her third-straight podium finish and fifth top five this year.
  • Colorado's Christina Rolandsen finished in the top five for the third time this year.
  • Denver's Jasmi Joensuu has three top five finishes this year.
  • Denver's Taeler McCrerey finished In the top five for the fourth time this season.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek