Colorado Leads At Midpoint Of NCAA Championships

Thursday, March 8, 2018 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

STEAMBOAT SPRINGS, Colo.—RMISA teams hold the top three spots in the team standings after two days of racing at the NCAA Championships, with Colorado leading Denver and Utah halfway through the championships.

The league saw another title today with Utah’s Martin Bergstroem successfully defending his NCAA classic title.

Colorado leads Denver by just nine points, 276 to 267, and Utah is third with 235 points. EISA schools Dartmouth (217.5) and Vermont (162) are fourth and fifth. Montana State is tied for sixth with Middlebury (143).

Racing continues with the night slalom at Howelsen Hill with the first run at 6:45 p.m. MT.

Women’s 5-km Classic
1. Katherine Ogden, Dartmouth.
2. Anne Siri Lervik, Colorado
3. Hailey Swirbul, Alaska Anchorage
4. Guro Jordheim, Utah
5. Jasmi Joensuu, Denver
6. Petra Hyncicova, Colorado
7. Mariah Bredal, Utah
8. Anna Fake, Montana State
9. Lydia Blanchet, Dartmouth
10. Vivian Hett, Northern Michigan
11. Christina Rolandsen, Colorado
12. Linn Eriksen, Denver
13. Johanna Taliharm, Montana State
14. Taeler McCrerey, Denver
16. Natalie Hynes, Alaska Anchorage
17. Ann-Cathrin Uhl, Alaska Fairbanks
22. Emma Tarbath, Montana State
24. Leah Lange, Utah
25. Kati Roivas, Alaska Fairbanks
29. Anna Darnell, Alaska Fairbanks
35. Andrea Klementova, New Mexico
36. Brenna Egan, New Mexico
37. Sadie Fox, Alaska Anchorage
38. Carolyn Lucca, New Mexico
Italics: Non-RMISA skier.

  • Colorado was the top-scoring team in the race with 84 points, followed by Dartmouth (72), Denver (65) and Utah (63).
  • RMISA skiers took seven of the top 10 spots.
  • Colorado’s Anne Siri Lervik, Alaska Anchorage’s Hailey Swirbul, Utah’s Guro Jordheim and Denver’s Jasmi Joensuu all earned first-team All-America honors.
  • Lervik has five podium finishes this year. It is her first All-America honor.
  • It is also Swirbul’s first All-America honor, she has four podium finishes this year.
  • Jordheim is a three-time All-American for the Utes. She leads the league with 12 top five finishes this year.
  • Joensuu earned her fifth top-five finish of the year and her first career All-America honor.
  • Colorado’s Petra Hyncicova, Utah’s Mariah Bredal and Montana State’s Anna Fake earned second-team All-America honors.
  • Hyncicova has six top 10 finishes this year and is a six-time All-American.
  • Bredal has eight top 10 finishes this year, earning her first career All-America honor.
  • Fake, a first-time All-American, has six top 10 finishes this year.

Men’s 10-km Classic
1. Martin Bergstroem, Utah
2. Petter Reistad, Colorado
3. Dag Trolleboe, Denver
4. Eivind Kvaale, Denver
5. Ian Torchia, Northern Michigan
6. Callan DeLine, Dartmouth
7. Sondre Bollum, Colorado
8. Sindre Tungesvik, New Mexico
9. Luke Brown, Dartmouth
10. Kjetil Baanerud, Northern Michigan
12. Ricardo Izquierdo-Bernier, New Mexico
13. Bjorn Riksaasen, Utah
17. Karsten Hokanson, Montana State
20. Haakon Hjelstuen, Utah
22. Toomas Kollo, Alaska Anchorage
23. Lars Hannah, Denver
25. Nick Lovett, Alaska Fairbanks
26. Eriend Nydal, New Mexico
27. Max Donaldson, Alaska Fairbanks
29. Erik Axelsson, Montana State
30. Marcus Dueling, Alaska Anchorage
31. Alvar Alev, Colorado
33. Seiji Takagi, Alaska Fairbanks
35. Eli Jensen, Montana State
36. Zackarias Toresson, Alaska Anchorage.
Italics: Non-RMISA skier.

  • Denver (73), Utah (69) and Colorado (62) were the top scoring teams in the race.
  • Utah’s Martin Bergstroem won his second-straight NCAA classic title. He has three overall titles.
  • Bergstroem, Colorado’s Petter Reistad, Denver’s Dag Trolleboe and Eivind Kvaale all earned first-team All-America honors, sweeping the top four spots.
  • Colorado’s Sondre Bollum and New Mexico’s Sindre Tungesvik both earned second-team All-America honors.
  • Reistad is a five-time All-American for CU. He has six podium finishes this year.
  • Trolleboe has nine podium finishes this year, tied for Bergstroem for the league lead. Trolleboe is a four-time All-American.
  • Kvaale has 10 top-five finishes this year. This is his first career All-America honor.
  • Bollum, earned his first career All-America honor in his first season at Colorado. He has eight top 10 finishes this year.
  • Tungesvik is also in his first year at New Mexico for his first career All-America honor. He has four top 10 finishes since joining the Lobos three meets into the season.  

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek