Colorado Second After First Day Of 2018 NCAA Championships

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

STEAMBOAT SPRINGS, Colo.—Colorado stands second overall in the team standings to lead the RMISA after the first day of the 2018 NCAA Ski Championships which featured the giant slalom races. Three of the top five schools are from the Western league.

The Buffs have 130 points, trailing Vermont by four (134). Denver is third (129) with Utah fourth with 103 points.

Men’s Giant Slalom

1. Brian McLaughlin, Dartmouth
2. Tanguy Nef, Dartmouth
3. Ola Johansen, Colorado
4. Max Roeisland, Vermont
5. Morten Bakke, Montana State
6. Jett Seymour, Denver
T7. Max Lukko, Colorado
T7. David Ketterer, Colorado
9. Huston Philp, Utah
10. Sandy Vietze, Vermont
12. Linus Walch, Utah
15. Sam Dupratt, Utah
18. Tobias Kogler, Denver
21. Tyler Theis, New Mexico
22. Vegard Busengdal, New Mexico
24. Erik Cruz, Alaska Anchorage
25. Alex Leever, Denver
27. Anthony Naciuk, Alaska Anchorage
Addison Dvoracek, Montana State
Garret Driller, Montana State
Rob Greig, New Mexico
Dominic Unterberger, Alaska Anchorage
Italics: Non-RMISA skier.

  • Colorado was the top scoring RMISA team in the race with 82 points (second overall behind Dartmouth’s 92 points), followed by Utah with 57 points.
  • Colorado’s Ola Johnasen and Montana State’s Morten Bakke both earned first-team All-America honors.
  • Colorado’s Max Lukko and David Ketterer and Utah’s Huston Philp all earned second-team All-America honors.
  • Johansen has eight podium finishes this season. He is a two-time All-American.
  • Bakke has five top-five finishes this season. He is a two-time All-American.
  • Lukko has four top 10 finishes this season. He is a four-time All-American.
  • Ketterer, who won the 2017 NCAA title in this event, has five top 10 finishes this year. He spent part of the season competing on the World Cup circuit. He is a three-time All-American.
  • Philp has five top 10 finishes this season and this is his first All-America honor.
  • Montana State’s Addison Dvoracek had the fastest first run before skiing out in the second run.

Women’s Giant Slalom
1. Amelia Smart, Denver
2. Katharine Irwin, New Mexico
3. Paula Moltzan, Vermont
T4. Ann-Kathrin Breuning, Utah
T4. Carolina Bartlett, Middlebury
6. Stephanie Gartner, Montana State
7. Tonje Trulsrud, Colorado
8. Tuva Norbye, Denver
9. Francesca English, Vermont
10. Kari Hole, Montana State
11. Andrea Komsic, Denver
12. Rebecca Fiegl, New Mexico
13. Haley Cutler, New Mexico
14. Charley Field, Alaska Anchorage
15. Julie Mohagen, Utah
18. Nora Christiansen, Colorado
19. Alix Wells, Alaska Anchorage
21. Isabella Fidjeland, Colorado
Georgia Burgess, Alaska Anchorage
Benedicte Lyche, Montana State
Stephanie Currie, Dartmouth
Foreste Peterson, Dartmouth
Italics: Non-RMISA skier

  • Denver was the top scoring team in the race with 83 points followed by New Mexico (74).
  • The top five in the women’s race were separated by sixteen hundredths of a second.
  • Denver’s Amelia Smart won her first NCAA title in her first year at Denver. She has two wins and four podium finishes this year.
  • In addition to Smart, New Mexico’s Katharine Irwin and Utah’s Ann-Kathrin Breuning earned first-team All-America honors.
  • Montana State’s Stephanie Gartner, Colorado’s Tonje Trulsrud, Denver’s Tuva Norbye and Montana State’s Kari Hole earned second-team All-America honors.
  • Irwin has three podium finishes this year. She is a two-time All-American in the giant slalom.
  • Breuning is tied for the league lead with eight top-five finishes this year. It is her first All-America honor she is in her fourth year on the RMISA circuit, competing three seasons for non-NCAA school Westminster.
  • Gartner has seven top-10 finishes this year. It is her first All-America honor.
  • Trulsrud is a two-time All-American. She has 11 top-10 finishes this year.
  • Norbye is a four-time All-American. She leads the league with 12 top-10 finishes this year.
  • Hole has seven top-10 finishes this year. It is her first All-America honor.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek