Denver Wins RMISA Championship

Sunday, February 25, 2018 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

STEAMBOAT SPRINGS, Colo.—Denver got wins from Eivind Kvaale in the men’s 20-km freestyle and Kristine Aasberg in the women’s giant slalom to close out the RMISA Championship on Sunday, Feb. 25.

Denver had 710.5 team points with Colorado (619), Montana State (558), Utah (553) and New Mexico (413.5) the top five. Alaska Anchorage finished sixth (360.5) with Alaska Fairbanks seventh (181) followed by Westminster College (172.5) and Colorado Mountain College (75).

Other individual race winners were Utah’s Guro Jordheim in the women’s 15-km freestyle, her fifth-straight race win, and Montana State’s Garret Driller in the men’s giant slalom.

The RMISA returns to Steamboat Springs in two weeks for the NCAA Championships, March 7-10. NCAA Championship selections will be released in the evening on Monday, Feb. 26, at

Women’s 15-km Freestyle

  1. Guro Jordheim, Utah
  2. Linn Eriksen, Denver
  3. Anne Siri Lervik, Colorado
  4. Hailey Swirbul, Alaska Anchorage
  5. Emma Tarbath, Montana State
  6. Jasmi Joensuu, Denver
  7. Christina Rolandsen, Colorado
  8. Ane Johnsen, Colorado
  9. Taleler McCrerey, Denver
  10. Johanna Taliharm, Montana State
  • Race points: Denver 86, Colorado 82, Utah 78, Montana State 65, Alaska Anchorage 58, New Mexico 47, Alaska Fairbanks 38
  • Utah’s Guro Jordheim has won five-straight races and seven races this season, more than anyone else on the circuit.
  • Denver’s Linn Eriksen has four podium finishes this year.
  • Colorado’s Anne Siri Lervik has four podium finishes this year.
  • Alaska Anchorage’s Hailey Swirbul has six top-five finishes this season, every race she has competed in this year.
  • Montana State’s Emma Tarbath earned her fourth top-five finish this year.

Men’s 20-km Freestyle

  1. Eivind Kvaale, Denver
  2. Haakon Hjelstuen, Utah
  3. Alvar Alev, Colorado
  4. Petter Reistad, Colorado
  5. Lars Hannah, Denver
  6. Sindre Tungesvik, New Mexico
  7. Martin Bergstroem, Utah
  8. Sondre Bollum, Colorado
  9. Karsten Hokanson, Montana State
  10. Dag Trolleboe, Denver
  • Race points: Denver 90, Colorado 88, Utah 81, Montana State 52, Alaska Fairbanks 49, New Mexico 47, Alaska Anchorage 37
  • Denver’s Eivind Kvaale earned his first win of the season, beating out Utah’s Haakon Hjelstuen and Colorado’s Alvar Alev in a sprint to the finish.
  • Hjelstuen earned his third podium finish of the year, all of which have been in races of 20-km or longer.
  • Alev has four podium finishes this season.
  • Colorado’s Petter Reistad has nine top-five finishes his year, the most of any skier without a win this season.
  • Denver’s Lars Hannah earned his first top-five finish of the year.

Women’s Giant Slalom

  1. Kristine Aasberg, Denver
  2. Tonje Trulsrud, Colorado
  3. Kari Hole, Montana State
  4. Tuva Norbye, Denver
  5. Ann-Kathrin Breuning, Utah
  6. Andrea Komsic, Denver
  7. Benedicte Lyche, Montana State
  8. Nora Christensen, Colorado
  9. Rebecca Fiegl, New Mexico
  10. Katharine Irwin, New Mexico
  • Race points: Denver 98, Montana State 78, Colorado 74, New Mexico 61, Alaska Anchorage 48, Westminster College 44, Utah 41, Colorado Mountain College 10
  • Denver’s Kristine Aasberg earned her third win of the year, tying her for the women’s alpine lead. She has four podium finishes.
  • Colorado’s Tonje Trulsrud earned her league-leading seventh podium of the year.
  • Montana State’s Kari Hole earned her second podium finish of the season.
  • Denver’s Tuva Norbye has five top-five finishes. She leads all skiers with 11 top-10 finishes.
  • Utah’s Ann-Kathrin Breuning has seven top-five finishes on the year, second in the league behind Trulsrud.

Men’s Giant Slalom

  1. Garret Driller, Montana State
  2. Addison Dvoracek, Montana State
  3. Alex Leever, Denver
  4. Nick Santaniello, Denver
  5. Ola Johansen, Colorado
  6. Linus Walch, Utah
  7. Sam Dupratt, Utah
  8. Jeff Bell, Montana State
  9. David Ketterer, Colorado
  10. Tobias Kogler, Denver
  • Race points: Montana State 100, Denver 86.5, Utah 72, Colorado 69, Westminster College 49.5, New Mexico 34, Alaska Anchorage 35, Colorado Mountain College 26
  • Montana State’s Garret Driller is tied for the men’s alpine lead with three race wins. He has five podium finishes on the year.
  • Montana State’s Addison Dvoracek has four podium finishes on the year.
  • Denver’s Alex Leever has four podium finishes this season.
  • Denver’s Nick Santaniello has three top-five finishes.
  • Colorado’s Ola Johnasen leads the league with nine top-five finishes.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek