Colorado Leads Denver Invitational

Saturday, February 10, 2018 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

GEORGETOWN & MINTURN, Colo.—Colorado leads after day two of the Denver Invitational, with the men’s and women’s slalom and men’s and women’s freestyle races held on the second day of the meet.

Denver’s Tobias Kogler and Colorado’s Tonje Trulsrud won the men’s and women’s slalom races while Colorado’s Alvar Alev and Utah’s Guro Jordheim won the men’s 10-km and women’s 5-km freestyle races.

Colorado holds a 35.5-point lead over Montana State, 477 to 441.5 points. Host Denver stands third (436.5) with Utah fourth (403.5) and New Mexico fifth (378). Alaska Anchorage is sixth (232) with Westminster seventh (230.5), Alaska Fairbanks eighth (91), Colorado Mountain College ninth (53) and Wyoming 10th (50).

The meet closes with the women’s 5-km and men’s 10-km classic races on Sunday.

Women’s Slalom

  1. Tonje Trulsrud, Colorado
  2. Tuva Norbye, Denver
  3. Jocelyn McCarthy, Montana State
  4. Benedicte Lyche, Montana State
  5. Amelia Smart, Denver
  6. Nora Christensen, Colorado
  7. Rebecca Fiegl, New Mexico
  8. Stephanie Gartner, Montana State
  9. Julie Mohagen, Utah
  10. Juliette Gauthier, Westminster

  • Race points: Montana State 87.5, Colorado 79, Denver 66, Westminster College 56, New Mexico 55, Utah 54.5, Alaska Anchorage 46, Colorado Mountain College 0.
  • Colorado’s Tonje Trulsrud leads the league with three wins this year, all in the slalom. She also has a league-high six podium finishes.
  • Denver’s Tuva Norbye earned her second podium finish of the year.
  • Montana State’s Jocelyn McCarthy has two podium finishes this year.
  • Montana State’s Benedicte Lyche earned her first top-five finish of the season.
  • Denver’s Amelia Smart has two top five finishes this year.

Men’s Slalom

  1. Tobias Kogler, Denver
  2. Alex Leever, Denver
  3. Morten Bakke, Montana State
  4. Vegard Busengdal, New Mexico
  5. David Ketterer, Colorado
  6. Jett Seymour, Denver
  7. Rob Greig, New Mexico
  8. Huston Philp, Utah
  9. Raffael Breu, Westminster
  10. Joseph Young, Colorado

  • Race points: Denver 103, New Mexico 71, Colorado 69, Montana State 62, Westminster College 59, Utah 57, Colorado Mountain College 29, Alaska Anchorage 21.
  • Denver’s Tobias Kogler became the sixth different skier to win a race on the circuit with his first career victory.
  • Denver’s Alex Leever and Montana State’s Morten Bakke each have three podium finishes this season.
  • New Mexico’s Vegard Busengdal leads the league with seven top-five finishes.
  • Colorado’s David Ketterer earned his first top-five finish since returning from World Cup competition.

Women’s 5-km Freestyle

  1. Guro Jordheim, Utah
  2. Taeler McCrerey, Denver
  3. Christina Rolandsen, Colorado
  4. Anne Siri Lervik, Colorado
  5. Jasmi Joensuu, Denver
  6. Mariah Bredal, Utah
  7. Emma Tarbath, Montana State
  8. Ane Johnsen, Colorado
  9. Linn Eriksen, Denver
  10. Andrea Klementova, New Mexico

  • Race points: Denver 88, Colorado 88, Utah 86, Montana State 63, New Mexico 50, Alaska Fairbanks 44, Alaska Anchorage 35, Wyoming 24.
  • Utah’s Guro Jordheim won her league-leading fourth race of the season. She also leads the league with seven podium finishes.
  • Denver’s Taeler McCrerey earned her first podium finish of the year.
  • Colorado’s Christina Rolandsen earned her second podium finish of the season.
  • Colorado’s Anne Siri Lervik has six top-five finishes.
  • Denver’s Jasmi Joensuu has two top-five finishes this year.
  • Utah’s Mariah Bredal has been in the top 10 seven times this year.

Men’s 10-km Freestyle

  1. Alvar Alev, Colorado
  2. Petter Reistad, Colorado
  3. Karsten Hokanson, Montana State
  4. Eivind Kvaale, Denver
  5. Dag Trolleboe, Denver
  6. Hakon Hjelstuen, Utah
  7. Martin Bergstroem, Utah
  8. Bjorn Riksaasen, Utah
  9. Erik Axelsson, Montana State
  10. Jacob Engstroem, Utah

  • Race points: Colorado 92, Denver 77, Utah 75, Montana State 74, New Mexico 56, Alaska Fairbanks 47, Alaska Anchorage 31, Wyoming 26.
  • Colorado’s Alvar Alev won his first career race with the victory. It was his second podium of the season.
  • Colorado’s Petter Reistad earned his fourth podium of the year, which ranks third in the league and is the most of any skier who does not have a win this season.
  • Montana State’s Karsten Hokanson earned his first podium of the year.
  • Denver’s Eivind Kvaale has seven top-five finishes on the year, which ranks third in the league and is the most of any skier without a win this season.
  • Denver’s Dag Trolleboe has eight top-five finishes, tied for the league lead.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek