MSUís Dvoracek, UNMís Irwin Win Giant Slalom Races as Bobcats Lead Denver Invite

Friday, February 9, 2018 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

GEORGETOWN, Colo.—Montana Stateís Addison Dvoracek and New Mexicoís Katharine Irwin won the menís and womenís giant slalom to open the Denver Invitational on Friday.

Montana State leads the team standings after two races with 155 points, followed by Colorado (149) in second and New Mexico (146) in third. Utah has 131 points for fourth place with Westminster fifth (115.5), Denver sixth (102.5) and Alaska Anchorage seventh (99).

The Denver Invitational continues on Saturday, Feb. 9, with the menís and womenís slalom races as well as the Nordic 10 and 5-km freestyle races. Live alpine timing is available at No live timing is available for the Nordic races.

Womenís Giant Slalom

  1. Katharine Irwin, New Mexico
  2. Ann-Kathrin Breuning, Utah
  3. Tonje Trulsrud, Colorado
  4. Tuva Norbye, Denver
  5. Georgia Burgess, Alaska Anchorage
  6. Kari Hole, Montana State
  7. Julie Mohagen, Utah
  8. Haley Cutler, New Mexico
  9. Madison Ostergren, Westminster
  10. Amelia Smart, Denver

  • Race points: New Mexico 81, Utah 73, Alaska Anchorage 66, Colorado 64, Montana State 59, Denver 52.5, Westminster College 48.5.
  • New Mexicoís Katharine Irwin has two wins this season, tying her for the league lead.
  • Utahís Ann-Kathrin Breuning, who leads the league with six top-five finishes, earned her sixth podium finish of the year.
  • Coloradoís Tonje Trulsrud leads the league with five podium finishes on the year.
  • Denverís Tuva Norbye has two top-five finishes on the year.
  • Alaska Anchorageís Georgia Burgess earned her first top five finish of the year.

Menís Giant Slalom

  1. Addison Dvoracek, Montana State
  2. Ola Johansen, Colorado
  3. Adam Chrapek, Westminster
  4. Jeffrey Bell, Montana State
  5. Rob Greig, New Mexico
  6. Max Luukko, Colorado
  7. Patrick Carry, Montana State
  8. Tanner Farrow, Denver
  9. Huston Philp, Utah
  10. Joseph Young, Colorado

  • Race points: Montana State 96, Colorado 85, Westminster College 67, New Mexico 65, Utah 58, Denver 50, Alaska Anchorage 33, Colorado Mountain College 24.
  • Montana Stateís Addison Dvoracek earned his first win of the season. He is the fifth different winner in the league this year in menís alpine.
  • Coloradoís Ola Johnasen earned his league-leading sixth podium of the year.
  • Westminster Collegeís Adam Chrapek earned his first podium finish of the year.
  • Montana Stateís Jeffrey Bell has two top-five finishes.
  • New Mexicoís Rob Greig earned his first top five finish of the year.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek