RMISA Alpine Skiers Travel To Alaska

Tuesday, January 24, 2017 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

ANCHORAGE, Alaska—The RMISA alpine ski teams travel north to Alaska for a pair of meets, the Seawolf Invitational and UAA Invitational, both hosted by Alaska-Anchorage.

The men's and women's giant slalom for the Seawolf Invitational kicks off the week on Jan. 25 with the slalom races for the invite held on Jan. 27. The UAA Invitational opens with the giant slalom races on Jan. 26 with the slalom races on Jan. 28. All four races will be held at Alyeska Resort in Girdwood, Alaska.

Live results will be available at ussalivetiming.com.

The RMISA teams travel to Alaska for two meets every two years. The Nordic teams will travel to Alaska and compete in their portion of the meet from Feb. 7-12.

The top three teams have been the same for the first two meets of the year, with Colorado winning both the Montana State Invitational and Utah Invitational with Denver finishing second and Utah third.

Westminster does not plan to be in attendance, so the top women’s alpine skier so far this year, Ann-Kathrin Breuning - who has three wins and four podium finishes - will not be competing. Three other skiers have victories this year – Denver’s Andrea Komsic and Monica Huebner and Utah’s Chloe Fausa. Looking to break into the win column is Colorado’s Tonje Trulsrud, who has four podium finishes and six top-10’s this season. Denver’s Tuva Norbye has also finished in the top 10 in all six races this year with a podium finish and two top five’s. Colorado’s Norah Christensen (five top 10 finishes) and Utah’s Roni Remme (four top 10’s) have also shown consistency this year. Other skiers with podium finishes this year are Montana State’s Benedicte Lyche and Jocelyn McCarthy, Utah’s Julie Mohagen and Denver’s Kristine Aasberg.

In men’s alpine, Colorado’s David Ketterer has won all three slalom races this year and has four total podium finishes. He recently competed in a pair of World Cup races in Kitzbühel, Austria. Utah’s Sam Dupratt has won two of the three giant slalom races with podium finishes in all three. Colorado’s Ola Johnasen, who did not compete the first weekend of the season, also has a win with two podium finishes. New Mexico’s Vegard Busengdal and Ketterer are the only two skiers to finish in the top 10 in all six races. Busengdal has two podium finishes. Other skiers with multiple podium finishes are Colorado’s Max Luukko (two podiums, five top 10’s) and Montana State’s Garret Driller (two podiums, three top 10’s) while Montana State’s Addison Dvoracek, Denver’s Erik Read and Nick Santaniello also each have a podium finish this year. Utah’s Endre Bjertness and Montana State’s Morten Bakke each have four top-10 finishes.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek