2021 NCAA Championships (3/13)

LIVE Results (3/13): Women's 15K Freestyle | Men's 20K Freestyle
Results (3/12): Women's Slalom | Men's Slalom
Results (3/11): Women's 5K Classic | Men's 10K Classic
Results (3/10): Women's GS | Men's GS


Toiviainen, Wold Pick Up Women's Alpine MVP Honors

Wednesday, March 3, 2021 • by Curtis Snyder, RMISA

BOULDER—Westminster's Julia Toiviainen and Montana State's Tegan Wold were honored with MVP awards by the Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association for the 2021 season Wednesday. The awards are given to the skiers who accumulate the most NCAA Qualification points in each discipline during the regular season, which consisted of four meets in 2021. Toiviainen was dominant all season in both disciplines, but particularly in giant slalom, where she racked up three wins and one third place finish in the four regular season races, to earn 154 out of a possible 160 points and win the Women's Giant Slalom MVP honor. She beat teammates Hannah Saethereng (132) and Lana Zbasnik (125) in second and third place as the Griffins were dominant in alpine action all season long. Montana State's Nellie Talbot was fourth with 113 points and Alaska Anchorage's Rebecca Fieglo was fifth with 85 in the final standings. Wold edged out Toiviainen by just a single point for the Women's Slalom MVP honor, 134-133. Wold had a second, two thirds and a fifth on the season to Toiviainen's first, second, fifth and sixth place finishes. Wold was behind Toiviainen 77-66 entering the last slalom series at Snowbird, but two podium appearances and fifth and sixth place showings by Toivianen gave Wold the edge. Utah's Katie Vesterstein was third with 128 points and then a little further back was Fiegl with 95 and Utah's Michelle Kerven with 85. This is the first season the award has been split out by disciplines and given to two women's alpine skiers as opposed to just one women's alpine MVP. These are the first league MVP honors in women's alpine for both Westminster and Montana State.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek