2021 NCAA Championships (3/13)

LIVE Results (3/13): Women's 15K Freestyle | Men's 20K Freestyle
Results (3/12): Women's Slalom | Men's Slalom
Results (3/11): Women's 5K Classic | Men's 10K Classic
Results (3/10): Women's GS | Men's GS


Haugan, Bredal Win RMISA Skiers of the Meet

Thursday, February 25, 2021 • by Curtis Snyder, RMISA

BOULDER—Colorado freshman Oyvind Haugan and Utah senior Mariah Bredal were named the RMISA Skiers of the Meet for the RMISA Invitational at Westminster & Soldier Hollow, the league announced Thursday.

Haugan had two top-five finishes, taking fifth in the 10K classic race and fourth in the 15K freestyle race, missing the podium by less than a second. Hauganís performance enabled the Buffs to finish second in the meet. Bredal helped lead the Utes to the meet victory with two top-five finishes f her own. She took fifth in the 5K classic race Monday and then followed that up Tuesday with a third-place finish in the 10K freestyle race.

Haugan is the fourth CU skier to win the award this season, joining Magnus Boee, who won for the RMISA Invitational at Utah, and Stef Fleckenstein and Filip Forejtek, who won on the alpine side for the RMISA Championships.

Bredal is the eighth Utah skier to win the award this season, joining Bjorn Brudevoll (menís alpine) in this meet. Samuel Hendry, Gustav Vollo, Bjorn Riksaasen, Julia Richter, Madison Hoffman, and Novie McCabe have also won the award this season.

Skiers can win once per season and the winner is determined by the skier who scores the most NCAA qualification points in a given meet who hasnít already won the award.

Other winners:
DU Invitational: Gustav Vollo, Utah (menís alpine), Julia Toiviainen, Westminster (womenís alpine), Astrid Stav, Alaska Anchorage (womenís Nordic), Samuel Hendry, Utah (menís Nordic) CU Invitational: Francesco Gori, Westminster (menís alpine), Madison Hoffman, Utah (womenís alpine), Julia Richter, Utah (womenís Nordic), Bjorn Riksaasen, Utah (menís Nordic) RMISA Invite at UU: Tobias Kogler, Denver (menís alpine), Hannah Saethereng, Westminster (womenís alpine), Novie McCabe, Utah (womenís Nordic), Magnus Boee, Colorado (menís Nordic) RMISA Invite at WMC: Bjorn Brudevoll, Utah (menís alpine), Amelia Smart, Denver (womenís alpine), Oyvind Haugan (menís Nordic), Mariah Bredal, Utah (womenís Nordic) RMISA Championships: Filip Forejtek, Colorado (menís alpine), Stef Fleckenstein, Colorado (womenís alpine)

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek