2020 NCAA Championships (3/12)

Live Timing: Women's 5K FS | Men's 10K FS
Results: Women's GS | Men's GS


DU's Piippo, CU's Boee Win Owl Creek Chase

Sunday, February 9, 2020 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

ASPEN, Colo.—Denver's Eveliina Piippo and Colorado's Magnus Boee won the Owl Creek Chase RMISA qualifier races on Sunday morning.

RMISA qualifiers do not count towards any team scoring and are used as an extra opportunity for skiers to earn qualification points for the NCAA Championships at the end of the season.

Next up the league travels to Utah for the Nordic portion of the Utah Invitational, beginning Friday, Feb. 14 with the 5-km and 10-km freestyle races, followed by the 10-km classic races on Saturday, Feb. 15.

Women's 21-km Classic
  1. Eveliina Piippo, DU
  2. Leah Lange, UU
  3. Emma Tarbath, MSU
  4. Guro Jordheim, UU
  5. Mariah Bredal, UU
  6. Vera Norli, DU
  7. Hedda Baangman, CU
  8. Karianne Moe, UU
  9. Ezra Smith, CU
  10. Julia Richter, UU
  • In her second collegiate race, Denver's Eveliina Piippo earns her first collegiate win. She has finished on the podium in both races this season.
  • Utah's Leah Lange has three podium finishes this season, which is tied for second in the league.
  • Montana State's Emma Tarbath finishes on the podium for the first time this season and the second time in her career.
  • Utah's Guro Jordheim is the only skier in the league to finish in the top five in every race this season.
  • Utah's Mariah Bredal has finished in the top five four times this season, which is tied for third in the league.
  • Jordehim, Bredal, Lange and Colorado's Hedda Baangman have finished in the top 10 in every race this year.
Men's 21-km Classic
  1. Magnus Boee, CU
  2. Maximilian Bie, UU
  3. Espen Persen, UAA
  4. Bernhard Flaschberger, DU
  5. Zanden McMullen, MSU
  6. Sigurd Roenning, UAA
  7. Ole Marius Kirkeng, DU
  8. Logan Diekmann, UU
  9. Ola Jordheim, UU
  10. Eli Jensen, MSU
  • Colorado's Magnus Boee wins his league-leading third race of the season. He also leads the league with five podium finishes.
  • Utah's Maximilian Bie ties his best finish of the season with a second-place run, he has two podiums on the year.
  • Alaska Anchorage's Espen Persen earns his first career podium finish.
  • Denver's Bernhard Flaschberger earns his third top-five finish of the season.
  • Montana State's Zanden McMullen has three top-five finishes this year.
  • In addition to Boee, Utah's Logan Diekmann and Ola Jordheim have finished in the top 10 in every race this year.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek