Utah's Dvoracek, Colorado's Tommy Win RMISA GS Qualifiers

Thursday, January 17, 2019 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

BOZEMAN, Mont.—Utah's Addison Dvoracek and Colorado's Mikaela Tommy won their second-straight races at the RMISA giant slalom qualifiers on Friday afternoon.

The RMISA giant slalom qualifier, which does not count towards any team scoring and is used as an extra opportunity for skiers to earn qualification points for the NCAA Championships at the end of the season.

The teams return to the Montana State Invitational on Friday, as the alpine teams compete in the slalom races and the Nordic teams compete in the freestyle races. Colorado leads the overall team scoring with 158.5 points after the first two races followed by New Mexico (151), Montana State (139), Alaska Anchorage (119) and Denver (117).

Women's Giant Slalom
  1. Mikaela Tommy, Colorado
  2. Tuva Norbye, Denver
  3. Eirin Engeset, Utah
  4. Andrea Komsic, Denver
  5. Amelia Smart, Denver
  6. Stephanie Gartner, Montana State
  7. Sona Moravcikova, New Mexico
  8. Georgia Burgess, Alaska Anchorage
  9. Katie Hensien, Denver
  10. Andrea Arnold, Colorado
  • Colorado's Mikaela Tommy has two wins this season in three races.
  • Denver's Tuva Norbye has finished on the podium in four of five races this season.
  • Utah's Eirin Engeset has finished on the podium in three of the five races this season.
  • Denver's Andrea Komsic and Amelia Smart both have three top five finishes this season.
  • Montana State's Stephanie Gartner joins Norbye and Smart as the only skiers in the top 10 in every race this season.
Men's Giant Slalom
  1. Addison Dvoracek, Utah
  2. Liam Wallace, Alaska Anchorage
  3. Aage Solheim, Montana State
  4. Max Luukko, Colorado
  5. Huston Philp, Utah
  6. Florian Szwebel, Montana State
  7. Joey Young, Colorado
  8. Morten Bakke, Montana State
  9. Vegard Busengdal, New Mexico
  10. Martin Arene, Westminster College
  • Utah's Addison Dvoracek has won three of the four races held this season, all giant slalom races.
  • Alaska Anchorage's Liam Wallace earned his first career podium finish.
  • Montana State's Aage Solheim earned his second career podium finish.
  • Colorado's Max Luukko finished in the top five for the first time this year.
  • Utah's Huston Philp earned a career-best fifth-place finish.
  • Westminster College's Martin Arene's earned the team's best finish of the season in men's alpine.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek