RMISA Announces MVPs, League Teams

Wednesday, February 28, 2018 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

DENVER—The Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Athletic Association handed out MVP Awards for the 2018 season Wednesday with Utah taking home both Nordic honors and Colorado both alpine honors. Martin Bergstroem and Guro Jordehim won the Nordic awards and Ola Johansen and Tonje Trulsrud won the alpine awards.


Men’s Nordic: Utah’s Martin Bergstroem

Bergstroem led all men’s Nordic skiers with four wins this season and was tied for the league lead with eight podium finishes. He is the defending NCAA champion in both the classic and freestyle events.

Women’s Nordic: Utah’s Guro Jordheim

Jordheim won seven races, and enters the NCAA Championships on a five-race win streak. She has 10 podium finishes this year. In her second year at Utah, Jordheim is a two-time All-American.

Men’s Alpine: Colorado’s Ola Johansen

Johansen tied for the men’s alpine lead with three race wins and led all men’s alpine skiers with seven podium finishes. He was in the top five in nine races. Johansen was an All-American in the giant slalom in 2016.

Women’s Alpine: Colorado’s Tonje Trulsrud

Trulsrud tied for the women’s alpine lead with three race victories (all in the slalom) and led the league with seven podium finishes. Trulsrud was an All-American in the giant slalom in 2017.

All-RMISA Teams

Women’s Nordic

First Team
Hedda Baangman, Colorado
Linn Eriksen, Denver
Petra Hyncicova, Colorado
Guro Jordheim, Utah
Anne-Siri Lervik, Colorado

Second Team
Jasmi Joensuu, Denver
Leah Lange, Utah
Christina Rolandsen, Colorado
Hailey Swirlbul, Alaska Anchorage
Emma Tarbath, Montana State

Men’s Nordic

First Team
Alvar Alev, Colorado
Martin Bergstrom, Utah
Elvind Kvaale, Denver
Petter Reistad, Colorado
Dag Frode Trolleboe, Denver

Second Team
Erik Axelsson, Montana State
Sondre Bollum, Colorado
Hakon Hjelstuen, Utah
Karsten Hokanson, Montana State
Bjorn Riksaasen, Utah

Women’s Alpine

First Team
Kristine Aasberg, Denver
Nora Christiansen, Colorado
Katharine Irwin, New Mexico
Amelia Smart, Denver
Tonje Trulsrud, Colorado

Second Team
Ann-Kathrin Breuning, Utah
Kari Hole, Montana State
Andrea Komsic, Denver
Jocelyn McCarthy, Montana State
Tuva Norbye, Denver

Men’s Alpine

First Team
Vegard Busengdal, New Mexico
Garrett Driller, Montana State
Addison Dvoracek, Montana State
Ola Johansen, Colorado
Tobias Kogler, Denver

Second Team
Morten Bakke, Montana State
Jeffrey Bell, Montana State
Sam DuPratt, Utah
Alex Leever, Denver
Nick Santaniello, Denver

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek