Denver Continues to Lead at RMISA Championships

Saturday, February 24, 2018 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

STEAMBOAT SPRINGS, Colo.—Denver continues to lead the RMISA Championships/NCAA West Regional after the second day of competition on Saturday, Feb. 24.

Utah’s Guro Jordheim and Denver’s Dag Trolleboe won the women’s 5-km and men’s 10-km classic races at the RMISA Championships.

The Pioneers lead the meet with 350 points followed by host Colorado (306), Utah (281), Montana State (263) and New Mexico (224.5) in the top five. Alaska Anchorage is sixth (182.5) followed by Alaska Fairbanks (94), Westminster College (79) and Colorado Mountain College (39).

In alpine, Denver’s Kristine Aasberg and Montana State’s Addison Dvoracek won the RMISA giant slalom qualifier races, which do not count towards any team scoring and are used as an extra opportunity for skiers to earn qualification points for the NCAA Championships at the end of the season.

Women’s 5-km Classic

  1. Guro Jordheim, Utah
  2. Leah Lange, Utah
  3. Anne Siri Lervik, Colorado
  4. Jasmi Joensuu, Denver
  5. Hailey Swirbul, Alaska Anchorage
  6. Christina Rolandsen, Colorado
  7. Karianne Moe, Utah
  8. Linn Eriksen, Denver
  9. Ane Johnsen, Colorado
  10. Anna Fake, Montana State
  • Race points: Utah 102, Colorado 83, Denver 68, Alaska Anchorage 60, Montana State 58, Alaska Fairbanks 48, New Mexico 35
  • Utah’s Guro Jordheim earned her league-high sixth win of the season. She has nine podium finishes this year.
  • Utah’s Leah Lange earned her first career podium finish with a second-place run.
  • Colorado’s Anne Siri Lervik earned her third podium finish of the year.
  • Denver’s Jasmi Joensuu has four top-five finishes this year.
  • Alaska Anchorage’s Hailey Swirbul, competing in her first collegiate race since the Junior World Championships, earned her fifth top-five finish of the year.
  • Colorado’s Christina Rolandsen has been in the top 10 in 10 of 11 races this year.

Men’s 10-km Classic

  1. Dag Frode Trolleboe, Denver
  2. Eivind Kvaale, Denver
  3. Martin Bergström, Utah
  4. Bjorn Riksaasen, Utah
  5. Petter Reistad, Colorado
  6. Alvar Alev, Colorado
  7. Haakon Hjelstuen, Utah
  8. Logan Diekman, Utah
  9. Erik Axelsson, Montana State
  10. Erlend Nydal, New Mexico
  • Race points: Denver 97, Utah 90, Colorado 75, Montana State 56, New Mexico 55, Alaska Fairbanks 46, Alaska Anchorage 35.
  • Denver’s Dag Trolleboe earned his third victory of the season and his eighth podium of the year.
  • Denver’s Eivind Kvaale has four podiums this year and eight top-five finishes.
  • Utah’s Martin Bergström is tied with Trolleboe for the most podiums this season (eight).
  • Utah’s Bjorn Riksaasen tied his best career finish.
  • Colorado’s Petter Reistad has eight top-five finishes on the year.
  • Utah had four skiers in the top 10.

Men’s Giant Slalom

  1. Addison Dvoracek, Montana State
  2. Sam Dupratt, Utah
  3. Tobias Kogler, Denver
  4. Morten Bakke, Montana State
  5. Ola Johnasen, Colorado
  6. Linus Walch, Utah
  7. Huston Philp, Utah
  8. Martin Grasic, Utah
  9. Jett Seymour, Denver
  10. Alex Leever, Denver
  • Montana State’s Addison Dvoracek picked up his second win of the year. He has three podium finishes.
  • Utah’s Sam Dupratt earned his first podium since the first weekend of the season. He has two this year.
  • Denver’s Tobias Kogler has three podium finishes this season.
  • Montana State’s Morten Bakke has four top-five finishes this year.
  • Colorado’s Ola Johnasen has eight top-five finishes this year, tied for the league lead.
  • Utah placed four skiers in the top 10 with Huston Philp and Martin Grasic both earning their best finishes of the year.

Women’s Giant Slalom

  1. Kristine Aasberg, Denver
  2. Stephanie Gartner, Montana State
  3. Tuva Norbye, Denver
  4. Kari Hole, Montana State
  5. Tonje Trulsrud, Colorado
  6. Rebecca Fiegl, New Mexico
  7. Ann-Kathrin Breuning, Utah
  8. Katharine Irwin, New Mexico
  9. Benedicte Lyche, Montana State
  10. Andrea Komsic, Denver
  • Denver’s Kristine Aasberg won her second race of the season. She has won two giant slalom races.
  • Montana State’s Stephanie Gartner had her first podium of the season.
  • Denver’s Tuva Norbye earned her third podium of the year. She has a league-high 10 top-10 finishes.
  • Montana State’s Kari Hole has two top-five finishes this year.
  • Colorado’s Tonje Trulsrud leads the league with seven top-five finishes.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek