RMISA Season Continues With New Mexico Invitational

Thursday, February 1, 2018 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

RED RIVER, N.M. & CRESTED BUTTE, Colo.—The RMISA continues this week with the New Mexico Invitational. The alpine teams will compete in slalom races on Saturday, Feb. 3 and Sunday, Feb. 4, at Red River Ski Area while the Nordic teams compete in the 21-km freestyle on Feb. 3 and 5-km classic on Feb. 4.

The Nordic races have been moved to Crested Butte, Colo., due to local ski conditions.

Live alpine results can be found at www.ussalivetiming.com while Nordic results are at www.sportstats.us.

Through the first two meets, Colorado leads the overall points standings with 1,294 points, trailed closely by Denver (1,210.5) and Utah (1,181.5). Montana State also has over 1,000 points for the year with 1,061.5.

Men’s Alpine

  1. Montana State has scored the most points in men’s alpine (316) this year followed by New Mexico (290) and Denver (286).
  2. Possibly returning this weekend for Colorado is David Ketterer, who has been racing on the World Cup circuit early this season. He is the reigning NCAA slalom and giant slalom champion.
  3. Colorado’s Ola Johnasen has won two of the five races this season. The other winners have been Montana State’s Garret Driller, New Mexico’s Vegard Busengdal and Denver’s Jett Seymour.
  4. Johnasen is the only skier who has been in the top 10 in all five races. He has been on the podium four times.
  5. Busengdal has three podium finishes and four top five finishes.
  6. Other skiers with multiple podiums include Driller and Montana State’s Morten Bakke with two podiums each.
  7. Montana State’s Addison Dvoracek has also been consistent with three top-five finishes.

Women’s Alpine

  1. Denver has scored the most points in women’s alpine (337) this year followed by Colorado (297) and Montana State (253.5).
  2. In five races this year, there have been five different winners: Alaska Anchorage’s Charley Field, New Mexico’s Katharine Irwin, Denver’s Kristine Aasberg, Colorado’s Tonje Trulsrud and Colorado’s Nora Christensen.
  3. Trulsrud has three podium finishes this year while Aasberg and Christensen (two podiums each) all have multiple podium finishes. Eleven different skiers have been on the podium this year.
  4. Utah’s Ann-Kathrin Breuning has been the most consistent skier in women’s alpine with five top five finishes.
  5. Other skiers who have shown consistency include Denver’s Tuva Norbye, New Mexico’s Rebecca Fiegl and Denver’s Andrea Komsic.

Men’s Nordic

  1. Utah has scored the most points in men’s Nordic (372) this year followed by Colorado (321) and Denver (302).
  2. Utah’s Martin Bergstroem leads all skiers in RMISA with three wins this year. He has four podiums and six top five finishes.
  3. Denver’s Dag Trolleboe has two wins on the year and is the only skier who has finished on the podium in every race this year.
  4. Utah’s Haakon Hjelstuen has the other race win this year with four top five finishes.
  5. Denver’s Eivind Kvaale has three podium finishes and five top five finishes.
  6. Colorado’s Petter Reistad has three podium finishes and four top five finishes.
  7. Montana State’s Erik Axelsson also has a podium finish this year.

Women’s Nordic

  1. Colorado has scored the most women’s Nordic points (394) this year followed by Utah (306.5) and Denver (285.5).
  2. Utah’s Guro Jordheim and Colorado’s Hedda Baangman have each won two races this year. Jordheim has four podium finishes while Baangman has three podiums.
  3. Colorado’s Petra Hyncicova has one win this year and leads all women’s Nordic skiers with five podium finishes.
  4. Denver’s Jasmi Joensuu also has a victory this year with four top-10 finishes.
  5. Alaska Anchorage’s Hailey Swirbul has three podium finishes in the four races she has competed. She is currently competing at the FIS Junior World Ski Championships.
  6. Other skiers with podiums are Colorado’s Christina Rolandsen and Denver’s Linn Eriksen.
  7. Colorado’s Anne Siri Lervik and Montana Stae’s Emma Tarbath have multiple top-five finishes.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek