DU's Seymour Wins Slalom; Utah Wins Team Championship

Saturday, March 9, 2019 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

STOWE, Vt.—Denver's Jett Seymour won the men's slalom national title and Utah won the overall championship to keep the team title in the West for the seventh-straight year.

The Utes scored 530.5 points over the three days, leading second-place Vermont (476) and third-place Colorado (455) with Dartmouth finishing fourth (447). Denver was fifth (409) followed by New Mexico sixth (330). Alaska Anchorage finished eighth (204), Montana State ninth (184.5), Westminster 14th (70) and Alaska Fairbanks 15th (57).

The RMISA has won 58 of the 67 NCAA skiing championships held. Utah's title is its 12th which trails only Denver (24) and Colorado (19).

Men's Slalom

  1. Jett Seymour, Denver
  2. Liam Wallace, Alaska Anchorage
  3. Vegard Busengdal, New Mexico
  4. Guilaume Grand, St. Michaels
  5. Max Roeisland, Vermont
  6. Aage Solheim, Montana State
  7. Louis Muhlen-Schulte, Montana State
  8. Drew Duffy, Dartmouth
  9. Mark Engel, Utah
  10. Alex Barounos, New Mexico
  11. Olav Sanderberg, New Mexico
  12. Joey Young, Colorado
  13. Simon Fournier, Denver
  14. Joachim Lein, Utah
  15. Martin Arene, Westminster
  16. Addison Dvoracek, Utah
  17. Filip Forejtek, Colorado
  18. Mikkel Wahl, Westminster
  19. Sky Kelsey, Alaska Anchorage
  20. Tobias Kogler, Denver
  21. Max Luukko, Colorado

    Team scores: New Mexico 74, Denver 57, St. Michaels 53, Montana State 52, Vermont 49, Utah 46, Alaska Anchorage 39, Dartmouth 36, New Hampshire 28, Colorado 24, Westminster 16, St. Lawrence 14, Middlebury 13.

    • Denver's Jett Seymour won his first national championship and earned his third career All-America honor. It is his first win this season and he has three podium finishes.
    • Alaska Anchorage's Liam Wallace finished third and was on the podium for the third time this season. He earned his first career All-America honor.
    • New Mexico's Vegard Busengdal finished third for his fourth podium of the year and his second career All-America finish in the slalom.
    • Montana State's Aage Solheim earned his first career All-America honor with a sixth-place finish, his 10th top 10 finish of the year.
    • Montana State's Louis Muhlen-Schulte finished in the top 10 for the fifth time this season and earned his first career All-America honor.
    • Utah's Mark Engel finished ninth for his second career All-America honor. He has finished in the top 10 seven times this year.
    • New Mexico's Alex Barounos finished 10th for his first career All-America honor and his fifth top 10 finish of the year.

Women's Slalom

  1. Lawrence St. Germain, Vermont
  2. Roni Remme, Utah
  3. Mikaela Tommy, Colorado
  4. Amelia Smart, Denver
  5. Paula Moltzan, Vermont
  6. Andrea Komsic, Denver
  7. Jocelyn McCarthy, Montana State
  8. Stef Fleckenstein, Colorado
  9. Tuva Norbye, Denver
  10. Emma Woodhouse, New Hampshire
  11. Sona Morvcikova, New Mexico
  12. Nora Christensen, Colorado
  13. Eirin Engeset, Utah
  14. Kristine Aasberg, Utah
  15. Anne-Solene Bregou, Westminster
  16. Antonia Wearmouth, New Mexico
  17. Li Djurestaal, Alaska Anchorage
  18. Georgia Burgess, Alaska Anchorage
  19. Giulia Lorini, Westminster
DNF: Westminster's Anika Angriman (1)

Team scoring: Denver 80, Vermont 77, Colorado 70, Utah 58, Dartmouth 52, New Mexico 42, Colby 32, Montana State 25, New Hampshire 21, Middlebury 17, Alaska Anchorage 10, Westminster 10, Bates 3, St. Michaels 2

  • Utah's Roni Remme earned her fifth career All-America honor and her fourth podium of the year with her second second-place finish of the championships. She has four podium finishes this year.
  • Colorado's Mikaela Tommy earned her second All-America honor of the championships with a third-place run, her fourth podium of the year.
  • Denver's Amelia Smart earned her third career All-America honor with a sixth-place run, her ninth top-10 finish of the season.
  • Montana State's Jocelyn McCarthy earned the second All-America honor of her career (the first since her freshman season in 2016) with a seventh-place finish. She has seven top 10 finishes this year.
  • Colorado's Stef Fleckenstein earned her first career All-America honor with an eighth-place run, her eighth top 10 finish of the year.
  • Denver's Tuva Norbye is an All-American for the fifth time and has a league-high 12 finishes in the top 10 with her ninth-place finish.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek