Utah Wins RMISA Championship

Sunday, February 24, 2019 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

GIRDWOOD, Alaska—Montana State's Jocelyn McCarthy and Denver's Simon Fournier won the slalom for the second-straight day as Utah closed out the team win at the NCAA West Regional/RMISA Championships.

Utah won the meet with 671 points, 62 ahead of second-place Colorado (609) and 148 ahead of third-place New Mexico (523). Alaska Anchorage finished fourth (511) followed by Denver fifth (436), Montana State sixth (423), Alaska Fairbanks seventh (182), Westminster Collee eighth (135) and Colorado Mountain ninth (49).

The Utes won four of the five regular-season meets this season with Colorado winning the Montana State Invitational.

The NCAA Championships begin on Wednesday, March 6, in Stowe, Vermont.

Women's Slalom

  1. Jocelyn McCarthy, Montana State
  2. Rebecca Fiegl, New Mexico
  3. Andrea Komsic, Denver
  4. Tuva Norbye, Denver
  5. Mikala Tommy, Colorado
  6. Stef Fleckenstein, Colorado
  7. Eirin Engeset, Utah
  8. Nora Christensen, Colorado
  9. Kristine Aasberg, Utah
  10. Andrea Arnold, Colorado

Team scores: Colorado 79, New Mexico 69, Utah 68, Denver 65, Alaska Anchorage 53, Montana State 53, Westminster College 20, Colorado Mountain 14

  • Montana State's Jocelyn McCarthy won her third race of the season, all in the slalom.
  • New Mexico's Rebecca Fiegl earned her second-straight podium finish.
  • Denver's Andrea Komsic earned her third podium finish of the season.
  • Denver's Tuva Norbye earned her 10th top five finish of the year.
  • Colorado's Mikaela Tommy earned her fourth top five finish of the year.

Men's Slalom

  1. Simon Fournier, Denver
  2. Liam Wallace, Alaska Anchorage
  3. Mark Engel, Utah
  4. Joachim Lien, Utah
  5. Vegard Busengdal, New Mexico
  6. Olav Sanderberg, New Mexico
  7. Aage Solheim, Montana State
  8. Marin Arene, Westminster College
  9. Alex Barounos, New Mexico
  10. Addison Dvoracek, Utah

Team scores: Utah 86, New Mexico 78, Alaska Anchorage 72, Montana State 56, Westminster College 50, Colorado 47, Denver 40, Colorado Mountain 25

  • Denver's Simon Fournier won his league-leading fifth race of the season, four which were in the slalom.
  • Alaska Anchorage's Liam Wallace earned his second podium finish of the year.
  • Utah's Mark Engel finished on the podium for the fourth time this season.
  • Utah's Joachim Lien finished in the top five for the sixth time this year.
  • New Mexico's Vegard Busengdal finished in the top five for the fifth time this year. He leads the league with 10 top 10 finishes.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek