Colorado's Alev, Utah's Jordheim Win Classic Races; Colorado Wins DU Invitational

Sunday, February 11, 2018 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

MINTURN, Colo.—Colorado’s Alvar Alev and Utah’s Guro Jordheim won the 10 and 5-km classic races to close out the Denver Invitational on Sunday as Colorado won its third meet of the season.

Colorado took the win with 657 points, followed by Montana State (583.5), Denver (590.5), Utah (556.5) and New Mexico (482) in the top five. Alaska Anchorage (322), Westminster (230.5), Alaska Fairbanks (176), Wyoming (98) and Colorado Mountain (53) rounded out the scoring.

The RMISA has off this weekend before the RMISA Championships begin on Feb. 23.

Women’s 5-km Classic

  1. Guro Jordheim, Utah
  2. Linn Eriksen, Denver
  3. Anne Siri Lervik, Colorado
  4. Hedda Baangman, Colorado
  5. Jasmi Joensuu, Denver
  6. Christina Rolandsen, Colorado
  7. Emma Tarbath, Montana State
  8. Anna Fake, Montana State
  9. Ane Johnsen, Colorado
  10. Taeler McCrerey, Denver

  • Race points: Colorado 92, Denver 88, Utah 79, Montana State 66, Alaska Fairbanks 44, Alaska Anchorage 43, New Mexico 42, Wyoming 24
  • Utah’s Guro Jordheim leads all skiers in the RMISA with five victories this season (three freestyle, two classic). She also has eight podium finishes.
  • Denver’s Linn Eriksen has three podium finishes this season.
  • Colorado’s Anne Siri Lervik has two podium finishes this year.
  • Colorado’s Hedda Baangman earned her seventh top-five finish.
  • Denver’s Jasmi Joensuu has three top-five finishes this season.
  • Colorado had four skiers in the top 10 with Christina Rolandsen finishing sixth and Ane Johnsen placing ninth.

Men’s 10-km Classic

  1. Alvar Alev, Colorado
  2. Martin Bergstroem, Utah
  3. Petter Reistad, Colorado
  4. Dag Trolleboe, Denver
  5. Erik Axelsson, Montana State
  6. Karsten Hokanson, Montana State
  7. Erlend Nydal, New Mexico
  8. Eivind Kvaale, Denver
  9. Ricardo Izquierdo-Bernier, New Mexico
  10. Toomas Kollo, Alaska Anchorage

  • Race points: Colorado 88, Montana State 76, Utah 74, Denver 66, New Mexico 62, Alaska Anchorage 47, Alaska Fairbanks 41, Wyoming 24.
  • Colorado’s Alvar Alev won his second race of the season. He has three podium finishes.
  • Utah’s Martin Bergstroem has seven podium finishes, tied for the league lead.
  • Colorado’s Petter Reistad earned his fifth podium of the season.
  • Denver’s Dag Trolleboe has nine top-five finishes this year.
  • Montana State’s Erik Axelsson has two top five finishes this year. He finished in the top five for the first time since the opening weekend.
  • New Mexico’s Ricardo Izquierdo-Bernier earned his first top-10 finish of the year while Alaska Anchorage’s Toomas Kollo earned his second of the season and the first since the opening weekend.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek