Four Skiers Named RMISA Athletes of the Year

Monday, April 3, 2017 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah—Coloradoís David Ketterer and Petra Hyncicova, Utahís Martin Bergstroem and Montana Stateís Benedicte Lyche have been selected as the Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association Athletes of the Year. The award is selected by the coaches in the league.

Ketterer swept both the menís slalom and giant slalom races at the NCAA Championships. He won seven total races during his freshman season and finished on the podium nine times. Ketterer was the RMISA menís alpine MVP, won the 2017 NorAm Cup slalom title and made two World Cup starts during the season.

Lyche won the NCAA championship in the womenís giant slalom and also earned All-America honors in the slalom with a seventh-place finish. Her NCAA title was her lone win of the season and she had three total podium finishes. In three seasons at Montana State, Lyche is a four-time All-American, including three times in the giant slalom.

Bergstroem, in his first season at Utah, won both the menís 10-km classic and 20-km freestyle races at the NCAA Championships. The wins were his first of the season, and he finished on the podium six times during the year.

In womenís Nordic, Hyncicova swept the NCAA titles in the 15-km freestyle and 5-km classic races. She had five wins and seven podium finishes this season for the Buffs. Hyncicova is a five-time All-American over three seasons. She competed at the U23 World Ski Championships the past two seasons.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek