CU's Hyncicova, UU's Bergstroem Win Titles; Utah Leads NCAAs At Midpoint

Thursday, March 9, 2017 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

JACKSON, N.H.—Utah's Martin Bergstroem and Colorado's Petra Hyncicova won the NCAA classic titles on the second day of the NCAA Skiing Championships, as RMISA teams hold the top three spots in the team standings: Utah, Denver and Colorado. In all, 13 RMISA skiers earned All-America honors on the day (seven men, six women).

It was the first career titles for both Bergstroem and Hyncicova.

In the men's 10-km race, Bergstroem was the final skier off in the interval start. RMISA skiers took the top five spots, with Denver's Dag Trolleboe second, the Utes Martin Mikkelsen third., Colorado's Petter Reistad fourth and the Pioneers Moritz Madlener fifth. Utah won the race with 89.5 points which included a 15th-place finish from Kevin Bolger, who was in his first race back after suffering frostbite in Alaska. All three Denver skiers in the race earned All-America honors, which included a 10th-place run from Lars Hannah, trailing the Utes in the race by just 2.5 points (87). Colorado's Mads Stroem earned his seventh career All-America honor with an eighth-place run, another skier who is returning strong from injury (appendicitis).

In the women's race, Hyncicova was the only skier under 15 minutes on the day. All three Colorado skiers finished in the top 10 to earn a dominant race-high 94 points (Utah was second with 76 points), as Christina Rolandsen finished fourth and Jesse Knori was eighth. The Utes also had two skiers in the top 10 with Merete Myrseth in second and Guro Jordheim in fifth. New Mexico's Krista Niiranen finished seventh.

Utah leads the team standings with 301.5 points over Denver (265) and Colorado (240) in second and third, respectively. Montana State dropped to fourth with 177 points while Dartmouth is fifth (170).

The action returns to alpine on Friday with the men's and women's slalom races, which begin at 9:00 a.m. ET/7:00 a.m. MT with the women's race.

Women’s 5k Classic All-Americans
Petra Hyncicova, Colorado – First Team
Merete Myrseth, Utah – First Team
Christina Rolandsen, Colorado – First Team
Guro Jordheim, Utah – First Team
Krista Niiranen, New Mexico – Second Team
Jesse Knori, Colorado – Second Team

Men’s 10k Classic All-Americans
Martin Bergstrom, Utah – First Team
Dag Frode Trolleboe, Denver – First Team
Martin Mikkelsen, Utah – First Team
Petter Reistad, Colorado – First Team
Moritz Madlener, Denver – First Team
Mads Stroem, Colorado – Second Team
Lars Hannah, Denver – Second Team

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek